Skip to content

Post #1: The Plan

March 30, 2012

This is the first weekend of my new healthier lifestyle, and of course, I’m feeling a little nervous about my ability to maintain these good habits I’ve been practicing. I’ve been feeling the need to set some rules for myself since I haven’t officially signed up for weight watchers yet. Once I have something to be held accountable to, I’m pretty positive that this whole process will get a lot easier. I can’t wait. Last night I even purchased some Weight Watchers cookbooks on Amazon with a gift card. To ensure that I got the recipes even faster, I had the books sent to my Kindle. I browsed the cookbooks and couldn’t believe how great some of the recipes sounded. It left the chubby food-a-holic in me thinking that maybe, just maybe, I can do this. I’m excited to see what the future holds.

At this point, the scale says that I weigh 200.6 pounds. That number isn’t easy to swallow. In fact, it scares the crap out of me. In order to reach what I consider to be a healthy weight, I need to lose 70 pounds. Before I feel comfortable again I have to lose at least 50. This is a terrifying journey but I know that I’m not alone. I’m lucky because I love to cook so I don’t have any terrible fast food habits to break. I just need to make healthier choices. The fact that I’m active, I’m sure, will also make everything easier.

The business graduate in me has decided to come up with a SWOT analysis to solve my weight problem. It is as follows:

STRENGTHS: Loves cooking already, also already able to work out for extended lengths of time several times a week

WEAKNESSES: Looks for comfort in food, has an extreme sweet tooth. Sometimes lacks will power. Definitely does not drink enough water.

OPPORTUNITIES: The opportunity to eat healthier and create a better lifestyle. The opportunity to avoid health complications such as heart disease and diabetes.

THREATS: Going out with friends, choosing cheap bad-f0r-me food instead of healthy, colorful foods. Depression, as I’m an emotional eater. Alcohol consumption with friends. Snacking carelessly.

I think stepping back and taking a better look at how I can improve is a smart move. Hopefully this works!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

