Skip to content

Fresh Guacamole

April 4, 2012

I didn’t even know I liked guacamole until today, but the two ripening avocados in my pantry dared me to try it or they’d go to waste. In fact, I didn’t know I liked avocados until last week. That’s fine, this journey is all about trying new things. Luckily, there was a recipe for the creamy dip in the Weight Watchers New Complete Cookbook I ordered for my Kindle.

To be honest, I’ve never even had raw jalapeno… Just jalapeno flavored chips, etc. That’s a little embarassing, but then again, so is this entire blog. I was even reluctant to toss one in, but I ended up enjoying the flavor it lent to the dip. Since I don’t like onions I enjoyed getting to try guac on my own terms (by making it myself) instead of ordering it at a restaurant and being at the mercy of their ingredients. It’s good to know that jalapeno is another vegetable I can tolerate. Yay!

The flavors were intense on their own, but somehow worked together. I’m definitely a fan, but I don’t see myself making guacamole often. Not that it was difficult… I just don’t munch on tortilla chips that often.

So without further ado, here’s the recipe for the Weight Watchers classic guacamole, found in the New Complete Cookbook. I think it’s available on the weight watchers online website too. I myself omitted the onions and the cilantro, and if I were to make this again, I’d also reduce the amount of lime juice and salt I put in. I followed the directions, but I found that the salt and lime overpowered all the yummy veggies. If I wanted a margarita, I’d drink a dang margarita!

Classic Guacamole

Adapted from the WW New Complete Cookbook 2012

2 Points per 1/4 cup dip- chips not included in calculation

Serves 6

Ingredients

1 large ripe Haas avocado (/2 small ones- that’s what I used!)

2 Plum Tomatoes, Chopped

1/2 small onion, chopped

1/4 cup chopped fresh Cilantro

1 jalapeno, seeded and minced

1 tbl lime juice (I’d definitely reduce this!)

1/2 tsp salt (Reduce!)

1/4 Teaspoon Pepper

Instructions

Scoop avocado Pulp into a bowl and mash slightly. Add the remaining ingredients, mixing until combined. Serve within two hours or place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the guacamole (to prevent browning) and refrigerate.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

